Highways Awards 2021
Royal Lancaster London
20 October 2021


We'd like to express our gratitude to all our judges who will take time out of their busy schedules to judge the entries for the 2020 Highways Awards.

Chief Judge
Stephen Webb Head Judge WSP / IHE
Jonathan Pearson President of the Institute of Highway Engineers / Head of Programme Management Ringway Jacobs

Jonathan Pearson is the current President of the Institute of Highway Engineers (IHE) and he works for Ringway Jacobs, the integrated highway services provider as their Head of Programme Management, based in Essex.

Jonathan has been a Fellow of the Institute since 2005 and has served on the IHE Council since June 2010.   He started his highways career in 1993 as a Bridges Technician on the West London Motorway and Trunk Road Maintenance Contract.  Jonathan has since worked for local highway authorities and also the private sector - predominantly in his home county of Norfolk as well as in Lincolnshire and Cambridgeshire. He was worked within various roles, specialising in highway maintenance, asset and programme management.  Jonathan gained an MSc in in Civil Engineering in 2008 and is a Chartered Engineer. Jonathan attends All Party Parliamentary Group for Highways meetings and supports the IHE as a Professional Reviewer.  Jonathan was instrumental in the establishment of the IHE’s experiential route to Chartered Engineers which was launched in 2014 and is committed to raising the profile of the Institute and improving collaboration across PEI’s for the mutual benefits of their membership and the wider industry.

Kevin Monaghan Divisional Roads Manager Department for Infrastructure, Eastern Division


With over 30 years experience in highways and transportation, Kevin is Divisional Roads Manager in the Department for Infrastructure, Northern Ireland. Based in Eastern Division, he is responsible for roads and transportation infrastructure in the most heavily populated and trafficked region of Northern Ireland, including the cities of Belfast and Lisburn.  He leads Client operations in the development and maintenance of the transportation network, working closely with the Permanent Secretary of the Department for Infrastructure and local Councils, to deliver a wide programme of major improvement and transportation schemes.  He is responsible for delivery of the planned £150M York Street Interchange and the recently completed £90M Belfast Rapid Transit project.   His areas of expertise include the delivery of strategic highway improvements, traffic control and management, rapid transit, highways maintenance, winter service operations and development control.

Kevin has an honours degree in Civil Engineering and an MBA from the Ulster University.  He is also a Chartered Civil Engineer, a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers and a Member of the Chartered Institute of Highways and Transportation.

Nicola Bell Director, Asset Development, Safety, Engineering and Standards Highways England

Nicola began her career on a training programme with Strathclyde Regional Council, studying for a HNC in Civil Engineering. In 2007, Nicola completed an MSc in Transport Planning & Engineering and has been involved in a wide variety of roles since then, including Head of Local Infrastructure and Street Management at Cambridgeshire County Council, Director of Highways and Transport at West Sussex and Asset Management Director at Highways England. Nicola’s current role at Highways England is Regional Operations Director for the South East of England.

Richard Morgan Head of Planning, Asset Management & Standards Network Management Division, Transport, Department for Economy & Infrastructure, Welsh Government
Jonny Moran Operating Company Manager Transport Scotland
Specialist Judge
Chris Cranston Chairman NWSRG
Specialist Judge
Carol Valentine NWSRG
Specialist Judge
Martin Thomson Transport Scotland / NWSRG
Specialist Judge
Ian Hawthorn Head of Highways Maintenance and Projects London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham
Specialist Judge
Kate Fuller Road Safety Foundation
Specialist Judge
Dane Krambergar Charity MIND UK

Sponsored by